California law requires employers to provide written itemized wage statements containing precise, detailed pay-related information every pay period.
Penalties for failure to comply with these pay stub requirements entitles each worker to recover at least $50 for the first violation and a minimum $100 for each subsequent occurrence up to a maximum of $4000. Multiply those potential liabilities by the number of employees and the frequency of pay periods over a year’s time and a company may be in serious jeopardy for even one seemingly innocuous omission.
Therefore, it’s important to avoid potentially costly errors including but not limited to:
California Employers Beware: At present, the Labor Commissioner office’s online sample check stub format does not fully comply with all itemized wage statement requirements. For additional guidance, please see: California’s Itemized Pay Stub Requirements (March, 2016).
February 23, 2018Back to Blog
If you are an employer facing possible litigation or have an employee issue on which you need immediate guidance, call us to set up a consultation, or submit your message using our contact form.