June « 2014 « Law Offices of Timothy Bowles | Top Employment Law Firm in Los Angeles

Archive for June, 2014

Classifying Workers, Employees or Independent Contractors?

New Court Decision on Delivery Drivers Shows the Issue Requires Detailed Analysis  The dividing line between properly classified employees and independently contracted workers can often be about as clear as mud.   The June, 2014 decision from the federal Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals in Ruiz v. Affinity Logistics Corp illustrates the perils of a company’s […]

Read More

Mandatory Changes to Employee Pamphlets Take Effect July 1, 2014

“Paid Family Leave” Program and Workers’ Comp Affected Employees covered under California’s Paid Family Leave (PFL) program may receive up to six weeks of state-funded disability benefits to take time off for baby-bonding or to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, parent or registered domestic partner.  California’s Employment Development Department (EDD) administers this program […]

Read More

California’s Move to Pass The Highest Minimum Wage in the Nation

Bill to Push Minimum to $11.00, $12.00, then $13.00 per Hour Is Halfway Through the Legislature  As earlier reported, California’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $9.00 on July 1, 2014 and to $10.00 on January 1, 2016, thus ranking among the highest in the country. See, California Minimum Wage Increasing and Amended Minimum Wage […]

Read More

EEOC Doubles Fines for Poster Violations

Effective April 18, 2014, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) doubled the penalty for an employer’s failure to post that agency’s “Equal Employment Opportunity is the Law” notice, from $110 to $210 per violation.See, 29 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) section 1601.30(b). The required notice includes the basics for: The 1964 Civil Rights Act (Title […]

Read More

Amended Minimum Wage Notice Must Be Posted by July 1, 2014

As recently covered in our California Minimum Wage Increasing blog, California’s minimum will rise to $9.00 an hour on July 1, 2014. Also by July 1, California employers must prominently post the new Division of Labor Standards Enforcement Minimum Wage Order (MW-2014) specifying this $9.00 per hour minimum requirement as well as the $10.00 per […]

Read More


Skip to content