wage and hour laws « Law Offices of Timothy Bowles | Top Employment Law Firm in Los Angeles

Posts Tagged ‘wage and hour laws’

TAKE THE LEAD

Model Employee Handbook and Forms; COVID-19 Policies As many California employers welcome back workers laid off by pandemic conditions, best practices include ensuring policies and forms are up-to-date. We are daily guiding managers through this process with particular eye on sound COVID-19 protocols. Our model forms include: Pandemic recovery and prevention procedures; Paid sick leave […]

Read More

NO BASE LIKE HOME

When Interstate Transport Workers are Entitled to California Paycheck Protections While each state has the power to set wage and other workplace standards for labor performed within its borders, that authority can blur when truckers and passenger carrier personnel divide their work time between the states. On several suits by pilots and flight attendants, the […]

Read More

NEW LOCAL MINIMUM WAGE RATES EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2020

California minimum wages are currently $13.00 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees and $12.00 for employers with 25 employees or less. On January 1 of each coming year, these will continue to increase one dollar/hour until reaching $15 per hour for the larger employers (26-plus) in 2022 and for the smaller employers […]

Read More

BUSINESS AS UNUSUAL

COVID 19-Generated Expansions to Our Model Employee Handbook and Forms The current pandemic has been a game-changing wake-up call for us all. Our firm is proud to be helping clients through the maze of COVID-19 generated workplace laws, much of it from Congress’s hasty construction. Accordingly, we have expanded our 2020 model employment handbook and […]

Read More

APPLE OUTSMARTED

Company Must Pay Workers for Bag and Device Check Time Like many companies, Apple has a practice of checking retail workers’ bags and personal electronic devices after they clock out as a theft prevention measure. In a February 2020 ruling, the California Supreme Court directed that Apple must compensate such employees for that time, including […]

Read More

MINIMUM WAGE LAWS

A History With two exceptions (New Zealand, 1894; Australia, 1896), no country had a minimum wage law until the 20th Century. Instead, employers paid supposed “just (or fair) wages” on the purported mutual consent of their workers. Beginning in the late 1800s, religious and political groups attacked the “just wages” principle on the premise that […]

Read More

PAYDAY MAYDAY

Read the Fine Print: Payroll Companies Not Responsible for Employer Compliance Many employers mistakenly presume they can depend on their payroll companies for legally compliant services.  The fine print will almost certainly establish otherwise. Unfortunately, more than a few businesses have learned this lesson the hard way. It is common for payroll service providers to […]

Read More

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTION GET SMART(ER)

Order Our 2020 Updated Model Employee Handbook and Hire-to-Fire Forms Over the past two decades, we have developed and refined a “soup-to-nuts” employee handbook and package of basic hire-to-fire forms and policies. Implementation of these forms and policies will greatly improve a company’s legal protection in employment screening, hiring, training, terminations, and other related issues. […]

Read More

WHAT’S NEW IN 2020 CALIFORNIA MINIMUM WAGE RATES

On January 1, 2020, California minimum wage will increase to $12.00 for small employers with 25 or fewer employees and to $13.00 per hour for larger employers with 26 or more employees. These rates continue to increase annually until they reach $15.00 per hour in 2022 for larger employers and in 2023 for those with […]

Read More

WHAT’S NEW IN 2020 PHYSICIANS & SURGEONS NEW 2020 OVERTIME EXEMPTION RATES

California Labor Code section 515.6 exempts certain licensed physicians and surgeons from overtime compensation if they receive set minimum hourly compensation. Effective January 1, 2020, the California Department of Industrial Relations is increasing the minimum from $82.72 to $84.79 per hour, effective January 1, 2020. To avoid California’s requirements to pay overtime premium rates after eight hours worked in a day […]

Read More